Palkhis’

18Jun09

I just have no words to describe the procession of warkaris through palkhis!

Kudos to Vikram, his family and friends for arranging a stall to the devotees. They worked helter-skelter all through the night squashing over 5000 lemons. I was there for just 2 hours. I was a bit emotional for sometime, you know. Lakhs of devotees walking over 270 kms in the name of God. … who cares these days?

And the most interesting thing was 70% devotees are all above 55 years. This time even IT professionals participated in procession.

And in between, I happened to meet a child vendor selling some toys on the roads. I told him that you can use this work as a part -time while going to school during day time. I asked his whereabouts, parents. Most of the time his answers were just upto a murmering word. Then I wanted to boost him and continued my discussion by telling that whence after his studies he could earn at least Rs 300/- per day to the one he has been earning through selling this which accounts to Rs 30-50 a day. After three minutes of my class on his interests in studying, he finally agreed to go to school. While I was conveying adieu, I was curious to ask his name for which he replied “Paresh” Then came an answer from his mouth : ” You know? I earn 500 Rupees per day.”

What a sheer pity! Isn’t it? We should do something I felt sorry and still believe that Rotary and Rotaract could do wonders here.

Signing off as of now

Prash



No Responses Yet to “Palkhis’”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment